Skip to content

Star Wars – The Force Awakens – Quick Review

January 1, 2016

I’ve been seriously lax in updating this blog. It doesn’t mean I’m gaming any less or have lost interest in the blog, it just hasn’t been a priority. Anyway, here’s a quick review of ‘Star Wars – The Force Awakens’ that I sent out to my gaming buddies.

The Good

  • Liked the new characters Fin, Rey, and Poe.
  • Liked having Han and Chewbacca in the movie, didn’t seem forced, and there was some pretty good banter.
  • Honestly, I liked seeing Han die, though it means my favorite character was killed off by his only son (which makes him and Leia’s relationship ultimately tragic). It worked.
  • Abrams gets the look and feel right. No cute/silly aliens.
  • Like that the Stormtroopers are actually badass.
  • Action scenes were pretty good.
The Bad
  • Really, ANOTHER Deathstar!? Yeah, yeah, I know there were differences, I actually thought the differences were cool, but it’s still a really big Deathstar that’s still is vulnerable to small one-man fighters with a couple of torpedoes.
  • Kylo Ren is poorly cast, the guy does not appear threatening at all. The actual character seems ineffectual and downright whiny.
  • I’m not a huge canon guy, but Abrams has made it pretty clear that he doesn’t care about canon. See the Star Trek movies. My main issue is with Rey and the Force, she can do stuff with no training. In fact, she seems to think the Force is a myth when first talking with Han(?). She goes from that to controlling minds a couple of days later with zero training. Um…no. She’s also able to take on Kylo Ren who can stop blaster bolts in mid-flight (which was awesome, btw), but he was badly injured already so I’ll give that a pass.
The Ugly
  • Can someone deactivate C3P0 already?
  • I liked the look of the Supreme Leader – giant, dim hologram – but is his name really Supreme Leader Snoke? That name is silly.
The Odd
  • The movie tried pretty hard to mimic New Hope. Start out on a desert world, the ‘maguffin’ is a droid that has something everyone wants, there’s a cantina with lots of weird aliens, the aforementioned Death Star, etc. Not sure why Abrams felt the need to do that.
 So overall I would give it an 4 out of 5. I liked it, but I think my expectations were too high.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

