Skip to content

Alternate Prepainted Miniatures

May 30, 2015

For my Pegana campaign I have decided to bring out my miniatures. I used to love to paint miniatures, but I’m a slow painter and I really just never had the time or patience to paint up a large collection of miniatures specifically for roleplaying.  I gave up that aspect of the hobby at least 10 years ago. So for fantasy rpgs, I use prepaints. I’ve been collecting prepainted miniatures since WOTC released their initial Harbinger set and have a rather extensive (some might say ‘excessive’) collection of both the WOTC and Paizo prepaints.

I also have quite a few miniatures from other sources – mostly WizKids and their various ‘clickable’ miniatures. The number of miniatures WizKids has come out with over the last 15 years is enormous as they have created miniatures for games like MageKnight, HorrorClix, and HeroClix. What ‘s nice about these miniatures is that their quality is at least equal to, and is oftentimes superior, to the the quality of comparable WOTC or Paizo miniatures (which I believe are now also made by WizKids). You can cheaply purchase a large number of these miniatures from hobby shops and other outlets. Other sources of prepaints include miniatures from WOTC’s now defunct Heroscape game, as well as miniatures from WOTC’s short lived Dreamblade game (though the Dreamblade miniatures are relatively difficult to re-base). I’ve also picked up some of the old Rackham prepaints for their Cadwallon game which are rather nice, especially since some of these figs carry primitive firearms which I will be using in my next campaign.

Of course, I do have a major problem with ‘clix’ prepaints – they are mounted on a clickable base. If you play any of the ‘click’ games a clickable base is desired, but it’s pretty cumbersome and ugly when used for an rpg. For this reason, I pull these figs from their clix base and transfer them to a ‘simple base’. I also remove HeroClix and Cadwallon figs from their bases and put them on the same type of ‘simple base’ so that all of the figs look more uniform, and because I’m anal…

A ‘simple base’ is either a black base or a clear resin base produced by Litko. I really like the look of the clear resin bases, though not all figs work with such bases. The black bases are created by taking a cheap WOTC fig and cutting off the fig from the base. I used to do most figure removal with a knife but have graduated to a pair of simple snips for removing the current type of click which always have a black 1/2 base integrated into the fig. Older figs are still removed using an Xacto knife or razor blade (obviously, use caution when using any blade).

Samples of these figs are shown below. As you can see you can get quite a variety of cheap figs for any fantasy, science fiction or even modern rpg when using miniatures from various product lines:

Prepaints for RPGs

In this group, from left to right, I have 2 demons (HorrorClix), a cultist (Rasputin from HeroClix), a witch hunter (Rackham), a ghost/spirit (HorrorClix), a rifleman/scout (Rackham), a possessed lunatic (Horrorclix), an alien hound (Heroscape), and some type of ‘ghost/spectre’ (HeroClix).

All of these figs combined cost me no more $6 – $7 dollars including the bases. Please let me know if you have any ideas for prepaints that I might have missed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2015 11:04 pm

    A cheaper and quicker way for the base is to just cover up the hole in the clix dial with some masking tape and paint the whole base black.

  2. December 13, 2015 6:01 pm

    Definitely cheaper. It’s also certainly safer – I’ve had a couple of minor accidents with an Xacto knife getting figures off their bases. My only issue with this idea is that the clix dial is rather large and bulky, especially when compared to a standard D&D/Pathfinder miniature base. I might give this a try and see how it looks…

Leave a Reply

