Skip to content

Movie Review – Fury

November 9, 2014

Saw the movie Fury at the local theater a couple of days ago. The movie is about the crew of a Sherman tank during the last months of WWII. It stars Brad Pitt and Shia LaBeouf and some other actors that I had never heard of.

*SPOILERS BELOW*

The movie is well acted. Brad Pitt is great. I normally can’t stand Shia LaBeouf and I hesitated seeing the movie because he was in it, but he’s really good in Fury.

The movie has the most realistic portrayal of tank warfare I’ve seen on film, especially a scene where 4 Shermans take on a Tiger tank. Only one Sherman survives as it’s able to get behind the Tiger and hit it in the rear where its armor is weakest.

I was impressed with the movie’s ‘realism’, at least when it came to the equipment used. The Americans are running around in real Shermans, the Germans have a real Tiger tank (at least, it looked real). The Sherman’s fire white phosphorus (Willie Pete) something I’ve never seen portrayed in a movie before (even though it was something that was commonly used). The Germans use panzerfausts which can be devastating against a Sherman. I’m anal about this stuff, so I appreciate when this is done right in a movie.

Though my review is mostly positive, I did have some issues with the movie. Not sure if I would call this ‘bad’, but the tank crew is portrayed as battle-hardened and are generally callous and grim. I’m sure this was done on purpose, but I had a hard time empathizing with them as a result. They don’t do anything really wrong, they’re just not very sympathetic. The movie itself bogs down while the crew is in a German town interacting with some of the locals. More of a ‘quibble’ then a complaint, but the ending battle scene may have been a little too “over the top”. I’m pretty sure it was fairly easy for infantry to take out a stationary, disabled tank in short order. Oh, and if you don’t like ‘grim and gritty’ you probably won’t like Fury (I personally like ‘grim and gritty’ so had no problem with the films overall tone).

*END SPOILERS*

Overall, I’d give the movie a thumbs up, or a 3.5 out of 5.


fury
4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2014 8:42 pm

    It’s a real Tiger.
    http://www.tankmuseum.org/ixbin/indexplus?record=ART4176

    it’s one that was recovered in Tunisia and refurbished. The Sherman is real, too, from the same museum.

    • November 11, 2014 12:04 am

      That’s awesome! Thanks for the link.

      -Steve

      • November 11, 2014 9:30 pm

        You’re welcome. I went to see it because of Tiger 131 and Brad Pitt. My wife went because of, well, not the Tiger.

  2. January 1, 2015 11:51 pm

    You post interesting content here. Your page deserves much more visitors.
    It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know very useful service that can help you,
    simply type in google: svetsern traffic tips

Leave a Reply

