Skip to content

Aspects of Fantasy – Project Update

August 21, 2011

Time for another Aspects of Fantasy project update. Here it is December, and I’m still not done. I’ve actually been in a bit of a lull for about a month as other issues (work, home stuff) have taken up a bunch of my time.I’m close though…

Comments – I want to put comments throughout talking about why certain rules have been changed, as well as dispensing advice, suggesting rules options, etc. (Time to complete: 10 days)

Adventure write-up – I’m including the adventure I ran at GenCon. Some clean up will be necessary (Time to complete: 5 days)
Monsters – I’ll include around 30-40 initially, a mix of traditional and new. (Time to Complete: 14 days)
Monster creation and design was actually harder than I thought it would be. The problem was the Stat Box and general design philosophy. While I agree with a lot of what the old school movement is all about, I’ve noticed their monsters are – well – boring. I WANT my monsters to be detailed, their attacks fleshed out, descriptions of what they look like and how they should act, etc. All within reason of course – I think many monsters in 3.X and Pathfinder are somewhat out of control in the number of attacks, abilities, feats and powers they have. In some ways, my monster design is influenced more by 4e which actually reined some of that back. Still some question marks around monster design that I have to ‘flesh out’, but this is mostly done.  Oh, and instead of 30-40 monsters I have 10…

Clean Up – Read through and clean up, plus the placing of graphics. (Time to Complete: 30 days) – This is where I’m at right now.
Index – My pet peeve with many games, I will have an index. (Time to Complete: 3 days)
Place in Adobe InDesign – This is a nice to have. Word is simply not a desktop publishing tool like InDesign. However, it would take me awhile to get up to speed with this program and get it to do what I want. We’ll see.

Overall: I’m still showing 45-50 days of work so far. I may be able to cut that down as I have quite a bit of vacation around Christmas. We’ll see…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

