Skip to content

Aspects of Fantasy – Test Session #1

June 6, 2011

Well, better late than never. Bruce and I playtested  ‘Aspects of Fantasy’ almost two weeks ago and I’m just now getting around to gathering my thoughts and documenting the game session. Bruce, as always, was a huge help. Some notes:

1. Decided to base negative hit points on Wisdom. Like this for a couple of reasons – abstractly measures a character’s will to live and provides another use for an often neglected attribute.

2. After talking it over with Bruce I’ve decided to reward Fate Points to players who describe what they do in combat and/or what their spells look like when cast. No hard and fast rule, just a Fate Point after every 3-5 times a character describes what he’s doing. This will be an optional rule.

3. Haven’t had a chance yet to look at weapon aspects and how I’m going to use them.

4. Looked for party aspects in Legends of Anglerre but didn’t see them. I like this idea though. Rule that if the average level of the party is 4th the party gets an aspect, at 8th level a second aspect, etc. Not sure how to use as yet though.

5. Looking at monster aspects and GM fate points to power them. They do have these  in Legends. May also be compelled by players? Not sure yet. Have I mentioned I really like aspects?

Looks like Bruce and I have another test session this Wednesday. Definitely getting a lot out of these sessions, plus I’m getting to game a fair bit which has just been great.

-Steve

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 5:15 pm

    I dig the idea of party aspects!

    Re: Monster Aspects, that’s an interesting thought Steve. I don’t know if any of the FATE games do “Player compels.” I know with tagging that you have to figure out (guess) a foe’s aspect, and then you normally tag it. So I guess the orc has the aspect “beserk”, and you confirm he has something close enough (say “savage”). I can then tag his “savage” for the normal fate point benefit. I could be missing something here though… It’s off the top of my head.

  2. June 6, 2011 6:26 pm

    Yeah, and I need to read over as well. I wonder if it would be easier to use the concept of tagging – which I have so far avoided – or just allow the players to compel like a GM compels. So, say orcs have the “cannibal” aspect, you might compel one particularly nasty orc to feast on one of his fallen mates for a round while you are fighting another. Again, though, this might be tagging with another name. Definitely need to read over. We can talk about on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

