Skip to content

Friends and Allies Cards

June 4, 2010

My first blog post on WordPress, so I thought I would do a quick review.

Went up to Yottaquest (my new LGS) looking for True20 second edition, but they didn’t have it in stock. However, I did pick up Paizo’s “Friends and Allies” cards that Bruce had previously mentioned. You get 54 cards for $10 and each card has a full-color illustration of a face that can be used as either a character or npc illustration. I was a little concerned that the facial illustrations would have been a little too odd or bizarre to use, but I was pleasantly surprised. A little more than half are useful for my Empire Grimm game which is all human (or mostly human anyway). For D&D almost all are useful. Only around 8 will probably not be used: one is an elf with facial tattoos, another is a guy with a tophat which is too much of an anachronism, a couple have orcs and half-orcs which I normally don’t use, etc. Overall, though, a very good purchase.

I should mention that there is also an “Enemies” card deck released by Paizo. This was more my style but I happened to catch on Paizo’s site that the first release of these cards was defective. Evidently, they quickly smudge and you could easily leave fingerprints on them. Paizo has corrected but I was worried that the deck at Yottaquest was an original. This will be a purchase at either Origins or GenCon.

Bruce, I’ll bring to our next session. You are welcome to use them for any game you want to run.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 5, 2010 10:06 pm

    Definitely would like to see these! My trip to CBW for a Deadlands adventure was not fruitful. Man, someone needs to get in there and clean up their gaming…

Leave a Reply

